Knitting, the retropsective (Part II)

After I knit the skier sweater the next baby to come along was born to non-skiing parents.  I had to come up with a different idea for a unique sweater  – and after the skier, I’d set the bar pretty high for myself.  I came up with the perfect idea – a bike sweater!  I designed it in the same way, using a photo of a road sign, and excel. This one was knit using the same bulky cotton hand spun that I’d used for the skiier (I had a lot of this left over -and it was really lovely yarn, bulky enough to be worn as a jacket in Vancouver, but soft enough to be nice on a kid’s skin.)

Front of Bike Sweater # 1

Front of Bike Sweater # 1*

Back of Bike Sweater # 1

Back of Bike Sweater # 1

Bike Sweater #1 being worn on a bike ride!

Bike Sweater #1 being worn on a bike ride!

The next baby to come along (everyone I knew had babies in 2008) was born into another biking family so I made another version of the big bike sweater with a slight personalization for the family (there is a long, complicated story about why the back of this sweater HAD to say “I’m a Cretney” – but we’ll leave that one for now).
Front - Bike Sweater #2

Front – Bike Sweater #2

Back, Bike Sweater #2

Back, Bike Sweater #2

Bike sweater # 2 in action - it was worn a lot and now is being worn by her little brother.

Bike sweater # 2 in action – it was worn from about 4 months to 3.5 years (I think it had three quarter sleeves by the end) and now is being worn by her little brother.

The second sweater was knit with some gorgeous soft soft wool (I don’t record these things – so I have no idea what brand or weight or anything – with baby sweaters I don’t worry about size or gauge, I just pick wool that I like and figure it will likely fit the kid within the first two years of his/her life!)  It was the first wool that I’d purpose bought for one of my sweaters.  The green was a colour that the parents liked and the orange just seemed to make a nice contrast.  I probably spent the most on this sweater of any of them… so it’s gratifying that it has had so much use.
After knitting the bike twice I didn’t want to do it again.  I love the finished product and these are two of my favourite sweaters – but they were a lot of work.  A bike doesn’t really lend itself to being knit and it had to be done intarsia style.  I had so many balls of wool on the go (as many as eight at a time) and it was so tangly that it was a big headache to keep track of it all.  I had to come up with something a bit easier for the next baby to come along…
*(wow these photos show off the terrible state of the carpet in our old apartment!  I am glad to have hardwood now 😉  )
Leave a Reply

