Graphic Design – Tulips on Two Wheels

Last year, the cycling advocacy group I’m a part of (Citizens for Safe Cycling – http://www.safecycling.ca), decided to organize a spring event called “tulips on two wheels”. As part of the event, we decided to order t-shirts for the volunteers. I had an idea for the shirts that, with the help of a graphic designer at “the SAM group” in Ottawa (http://www.thesamgroup.ca/), we were able to turn into a neat logo for the event. (I recommend the SAM group for this. I gave them a very rough sketch (see below) and for $35.00 (plus we had to order a certain number of shirts) they created this great logo for us.  When I asked for a copy of the digital file this year they were happy to give it to us to use as we wanted.  We ordered more shirts for our event this year and I’m sure we will continue to give them our business, while we continue to run this event.)

Original design used on t-shirts last year. Created from my very rough sketch by Robert at the SAM Group.

Original design used on t-shirts last year. Created by Robert at the SAM Group.

This was my idea for the shirts that I sent to the SAM group.  (I really am not an artist)

This was my idea for the shirts.  I literally sent this rough sketch to the SAM group and they turned it into the T-shirt that you see above. (I really am not an artist)

I loved the logo, but didn’t entirely like the way it looks in only two colours, to this year I started fooling around in GIMP and figured out how to add the colour to the tulips.  I think it’s a big improvement.

Modified design with no words and no logo

Modified design with no words and no logo – and bright colourful tulips!

I’m really pleased with the design now,  and I think we’ll use this logo for various purposes for several years.  I like that it is obvious that we’re from Ottawa as soon as you see it.

Logo used in promotional material for Tulips on Two Wheels 2013.

Logo used in promotional material for Tulips on Two Wheels 2013.

And now we’re using it on promotional material not just related to “Tulips on Two Wheels” – but for all Citizens for Safe Cycling promotion.  Here’s the banner, in print, that got me working on the logo again this year.

Our new "professional" looking banner.

Our new “professional” looking banner.

We also need to give a shout out to Stephen Cretney at “http://theforest.ca/” for helping us with the final file conversion to CMYK before we printed the banner.  We didn’t have software to do this conversion and it was necessary to do it prior to sending the banner to the printer. Stephen, you’re awesome! Keep your eye out for this logo to show up on other CfSC promotional material in the near future.

Leave a Reply

