Bikes and Blossoms

This weekend was the May 24th Long weekend – affectionately known, in Ontario at least, as “the 2-4”.  Traditionally the first camping or cottage weekend of the year, it really signifies the beginning of summer for many Canadians.  I’m happy to say, that after a long, snowy winter here in the capital, this “2-4” did not disappoint.  Even though we weren’t at a cottage or out camping we had more than one meal outside on the deck with friends, went for a hike and a picnic in Gatineau Park, and I got to go out biking; both on my own, and with The Boy and his Dad.  I was happy to be able to finally bring along my “big” camera and try to take some better photos than I get on the iPod on my daily toddler adventures.  It seemed like everyone in Ottawa also had the same idea and the bike paths were packed with people cycling, taking photos and generally enjoying the sunshine, the flowers and the outdoors.

This series of photos highlights blossoms and bikes seen on Saturday and on Monday.

Daffodils

Daffodils and Dows Lake

And over the bridge

The bridge near the Arboretum

Biking By

Biking By

Blossoms in the Arboretum

Blossoms in the Arboretum

My ride.

My ride.

Blur... I didn't quite perfect these photos. I am keen to try again.

Blur… I didn’t quite perfect these photos. I am keen to try again.

Bixi's being well used

Lots of people were biking around on Bixis

I made her do a drive-by so I could take a shot

I made her do a drive-by so I could take a shot (it’s my sister).

Bikes and Boats

Bikes and Boats

Along the Canal

Along the Canal

Stop to look for ducks

Stop to look for ducks

Winding Path

Winding Path (rare bike free moment)

Leave a Reply

